True Freedom

“And the Messiah cometh in the fulness of time, that he may redeem the children of men from the fall. And because that they are redeemed from the fall they have become free forever.” (2 Nephi 2:26)

With the celebration of the independence of our country a couple weeks ago, I have been thinking a lot about what true freedom means.

Freedom: noun, the state of not being imprisoned or enslaved; personal liberty,
as opposed to bondage or slavery

In a way, all of us are in bondage.  All of us are slaves to physical death; there is nothing we personally can do to stop its grasp from eventually overtaking us.  Because none of us are perfect, we are also subject to sin, which brings a slavery in an of itself.

If there is one thing that I have learned, it is that I cannot free myself from these two things.  I alone do not have the power to erase my transgressions or to raise myself from the grave.  If I did not have a Savior, I would be stuck in the “grasp of…that monster, death and hell” (2 Nephi 9:10).  And yet, out of such great love, Jesus Christ’s atoning sacrifice overcame the effects of both these.  Because of Him, I can be freed from sin and from death.  I can be freed from guilt, shame, regret, sorrow, hurt, sadness, anguish, and despair.  Because of His infinite compassion, I can become free forever if I but choose to follow Him.

So brothers and sisters, LIVE FREE.  Turn to Jesus Christ, and I promise that He will liberate you from any mental, spiritual, and emotional bonds that you may find yourself bound in. ♥

2 thoughts on “True Freedom

  1. Hey Lauren.
    A great post….I have a question though about freedom. In context of our life in Christ is there such a thing as freedom? Yes we have been freed from sin but does that mean we are free? There are verses that talk about us being slaves of righteousness and slaves of Christ….I am not saying its a bad thing. I think a slave of Christ would mean something entirely different to what we used to. I am just interested in the whole concept of freedom…..I will need to also research that.

    • That is a good point… You’re right, I was mostly taking it as we are freed from death through His resurrection and through His atonement we can be freed from the consequences of sin. Which brings me such hope! Being a slave of Christ would indeed mean something entirely different. I will need to research that as well!

Leave a Reply

