The Divinity of Motherhood

When I think of motherhood, I think of sacrifice.  I think of love, encouragement, compassion, charity, and selflessness.  I think of virtue, purity, empathy, understanding.  I think of a warm welcome home, a listening ear, a helping hand, and countless other tender memories that bring a smile of gratitude to my face.

Why do I think of these things?

Because these things are everything my mother is!  Because these are attributes of Christ, and this is the way that He has shown all mothers everywhere to raise their children in the light.  Why is that significant? Because Motherhood is the highest and holiest calling assumed by humankind!

I love my mother for numberless reasons that could never be written (thank you, Mom!!♥), but I will tell you one of the most influential:

I love my mother because she has shown me the way to Jesus Christ.

And that has made all the difference.

She has been my example through thick and thin, through good and bad, through hard and easy, through darkness and light.  Her Christlike characteristics have led me to become who I am.  Her motherhood is in great part the reason why I am a missionary.

You see, as someone told me today: “You can’t remember Christ and forget mothers, and you can’t remember mothers and forget Christ.  They go hand in hand in creating and fostering life.”

So all you women out there: YOU MATTER.  You make a difference!  You inherently have the power to influence generations for good.  YOU can lift, help, strengthen, edify, and inspire others in a way that no one else can.  The prophet Gordon B. Hinckley once said, “When  you save a girl, you save generations.

And oh, was he right 🙂

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

(Click HERE for the cutest two minute film to honor your mother with!)

3 thoughts on “The Divinity of Motherhood

  1. Hi Lauren.
    This is a great post.

    “You can’t remember
    Christ and forget mothers, and
    you can’t remember mothers and
    forget Christ. They go hand in
    hand in creating and fostering
    life.”

    I loved this saying….It is something to think on and give serious consideration!
    Thank God for mother’s….

    God bless you Lauren!

    Rolain

Leave a Reply

