Awakening

One of the most sacred experiences I have been blessed to have is that of praying in the Sacred Grove.  There is pure majesty that exists there.

What I feel goes something like this:

Kneeling down, eyes closed in prayer.  Darkness.  I see nothing.  This helps me focus on the things of a far more eternal nature.  Whispered, heartfelt words, spoken with the marvelous understanding that somewhere above, a grand and glorious being–God, our Heavenly Father–is listening.  For a moment, the world is lost.  Distractions disappear and I am at one.  I know who I am.

And then, as I end my simple prayer, I open my eyes.  Green.  Light.  Life.  Wisdom.  Perfect stillness.  Everything seems new and beautiful.  The trees know, I think.  They know where they are and they bear powerful record of it.

In that moment, I feel revived–new, pure, and filled with purpose.  In short, I feel as though I have awakened.

Awaken: [verb] to spring into being, to wake up, to stir, or to rouse from sleep or inactivity

To you reading this, are you aware that you are a child of God?  Are you aware that you have unlimited divine potential?  Are you aware that you have a Savior that loves you unconditionally?  Are you aware that your spirit existed before this earthly life and that your time here is simply a training ground for a much more eternal destiny?

My dear friends, awaken.  Spring into being!  Look around you and see the beauty in everything!  Do not let the mundane struggles of life drag you down.  Open up your eyes to the light around you, for  “the light which shineth, which giveth you light, is through him who enlighteneth your eyes, which is the same light that quickeneth your understandings; which light proceedeth forth from the presence of God to fill the immensity of space—The light which is in all things, which giveth life to all things, which is the law by which all things are governed, even the power of God who sitteth upon his throne, who is in the bosom of eternity, who is in the midst of all things.” (Doctrine and Covenants 88:11-13)

God is in the details.  I feel Him in the rays of sunshine from above.  I feel Him as I pray in the Sacred Grove.  I feel Him in the beauty of nature.  I feel Him in the kind smile of a stranger.  I feel Him through the scriptures.  I feel Him through music.  His tender mercies “are over all those whom he hath chosen, because of their faith, to make them mighty.” (1 Nephi 1:20)

You may feel God’s presence in your life differently than I do.  All of us come to know Him in a different way.  Perhaps right now you may not feel Him at all.

But how can we recognize Him unless we first awaken to the reality of His existence?

And what greater day than today to awaken your souls to truly finding Him?

 

 

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”   ― Roald Dahl

Leave a Reply

